top of page

Dino Visits the Grosvenor

I have been involved with a very exciting project over the last few weeks with Big Heritage and the Grosvenor Museum in conjunction with Claire House Hospice.

It was decided to hold a very special evening for children from the hospice where they would watch the film The Night in the Museum and then emerge into the Grosvenor where they would witness the exhibits coming to life.

It was a project I was keen to get involved in and immediately had the idea of making a giant dinosaur costume of a T Rex......and that is what me and my mate Tommy did.

We had no space to build it in other than my dining room so for the following few weeks my poor family had to contend with Dino taking up most of the space. My dining room table became the workshop bench and luckily enough a couple of weeks into the project nicer weather came our way so I could wok in the back yard, covering the dinosaur at night with my motorbike cover......from one mid life crisis to another!

We started with the head construction mainly because the scale of the project terrified us, we figured we would have to face the rest of it soon enough :)

Tommy put together this fab model to give us an idea about how the mechanics for the neck and head would work.

In this piccie I am testing out the weight of the costume in my dining room, honest I am , I am not playing.....O okay I couldn't wait to have a go :) There wasn't enough space to build the head on, at that point Dino had to go outside!

Me and Tommy wrestling with Dino trying to attach the neck to the torso.

Finally on site at the Grosvenor, it was an awesome evening and I am glad to say the children loved it, a night I am sure they will never forget.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page